Your estimate, turned into a proposal that reads like you wrote it.
ScopeClerk drafts your commercial bid proposal from the estimate you already built and your own past proposals — scope, exclusions, alternates and terms included — and a person checks every number against the estimate before it comes back to you.
The preview below costs 0 credits and needs no account. Questions first? Email us — please don't attach an estimate or past proposal to an email; upload it after you sign in.
Try a sample proposal yourself
This is a preview using a fixed template on invented numbers, computed in your browser. Nothing you type here is uploaded or sent anywhere, and no AI runs on this page. You upload a real estimate in Your work, after you sign in, never on this preview.
A real ScopeClerk draft doesn't come from this template: Claude on Amazon Bedrock in the EU writes the wording from your own estimate (and any past proposals you include with the job), every dollar figure is computed by ordinary code rather than by the model, and a member of our team checks every number against your estimate before it comes back to you.
A real draft-only proposal (a checked first draft, no revision round) uses 25 credits ($25.00 at the Starter rate). A full proposal (the same draft plus one revision round) uses 50 credits ($50.00 at the Starter rate). You pick which when you send the job; how the two differ. This preview: 0 credits.
On a narrow screen the line-item tables scroll sideways to show unit price and amount.
Sample A (SYNTHETIC) — single-trade HVAC rooftop-unit replacement, a small commercial building, lump-sum price, standard 12-month labor warranty. Edit any quantity, price, markup or deposit field and the totals recompute as you type.
| Item (synthetic) | Trade | Qty | Unit price | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Packaged rooftop unit RTU-1, 5-ton, replace existing on curb | HVAC | $12,800.00 | ||
| Disconnect, crane and remove existing unit | HVAC | $2,150.00 | ||
| Startup, test and balance | HVAC | $1,050.00 | ||
| Direct subtotal | $16,000.00 | |||
Overhead and profit, applied to the direct subtotal.
Overhead and profit, 15%: $2,400.00
Lump-sum bid price: $18,400.00
Deposit due on signed contract (10% of the bid price): $1,840.00
Balance due on completion: $16,560.00
Proposal draft (template preview, invented job)
Re: rooftop unit replacement at a small commercial building (invented job).
We propose to furnish and install the HVAC work below for the lump-sum price of $18,400.00.
Scope of work: HVAC
- Packaged rooftop unit RTU-1, 5-ton, replacing the existing unit on its curb.
- Disconnect, crane and remove the existing unit.
- Start-up, test and balance.
Warranty
12 months on labor and workmanship.
Payment terms
Deposit of 10% ($1,840.00) due on signed contract. Balance of $16,560.00 due on completion. No retainage.
Sample B (SYNTHETIC) — multi-trade tenant-improvement bid, a restaurant build-out, HVAC + plumbing in one document, with an alternate and an exclusion. Edit any quantity, price, markup, deposit or retainage field, or toggle Alternate 1, and the totals recompute as you type.
HVAC
| Item (synthetic) | Qty | Unit price | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Packaged rooftop unit RTU-1, 7.5 ton, on existing curb with adapter | $18,400.00 | ||
| Kitchen make-up air unit MAU-1, 3,000 CFM | $11,250.00 | ||
| Supply and return ductwork, dining area (1 lot) | $9,600.00 | ||
| Controls, thermostat, start-up, test and balance (1 lot) | $3,150.00 | ||
| HVAC subtotal | $42,400.00 | ||
Plumbing
| Item (synthetic) | Qty | Unit price | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grease interceptor, 50 GPM, installed | $7,800.00 | ||
| Rough-in and set fixtures (3-compartment sink, 3 hand sinks, mop sink, 2 restrooms), 1 lot | $14,650.00 | ||
| Gas piping to kitchen line, appliance connections | $4,700.00 | ||
| Water heater, 100 gal, gas | $6,350.00 | ||
| Plumbing subtotal | $33,500.00 | ||
Exclusion (by others): electrical panel upgrade and power wiring to new equipment. Sales tax is treated as included in the line prices for this synthetic job.
Overhead and profit is applied to the direct subtotal. Deposit and retainage are a percentage of the contract sum: the base bid, plus Alternate 1 if the client accepts it.
Unticked by default: the alternate is offered in the proposal but not in the base bid.
Direct subtotal: $75,900.00
Overhead and profit, 15%: $11,385.00
Base bid: $87,285.00
Alternate 1, if accepted: add $3,036.00 (not in the base bid)
Contract sum: $87,285.00 (base bid only)
Deposit due on signed contract (10% of the contract sum): $8,728.50
Retainage held until substantial completion (5% of the contract sum): $4,364.25
Billed as work progresses, after the deposit and less retainage: $74,192.25
Proposal draft (template preview, invented job)
Re: restaurant build-out, tenant improvement: HVAC and plumbing (invented job).
We propose to furnish and install the HVAC and plumbing work below for a base bid of $87,285.00, lump sum. Sales tax is included in the prices.
Scope of work: HVAC
- Packaged rooftop unit RTU-1, 7.5 ton, on the existing curb with an adapter.
- Kitchen make-up air unit MAU-1, 3,000 CFM.
- Supply and return ductwork, dining area.
- Controls, thermostat, start-up, test and balance.
Scope of work: plumbing
- Grease interceptor, 50 GPM, installed.
- Rough-in and set fixtures: 3-compartment sink, 3 hand sinks, mop sink, 2 restrooms.
- 4 × Gas piping and appliance connection, kitchen line.
- Water heater, 100 gal, gas.
Exclusions
- Electrical panel upgrade and power wiring to new equipment, by others.
Alternates
Alternate 1: upgrade RTU-1 to a high-efficiency unit. Add $3,036.00 to the base bid. Not included in the base bid.
Payment terms
Deposit of 10% ($8,728.50) due on signed contract. The balance is billed as work progresses, less 5% retainage ($4,364.25 in total), held until substantial completion.
Sample C (SYNTHETIC) — plumbing-only bid, a multi-family retrofit, priced by unit with a not-to-exceed allowance. Edit the fixture count, the price per fixture, or the allowance used, and the totals recompute as you type.
| Item (synthetic) | Fixtures | Price per fixture | Amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fixture replacement, kitchen and bath fixtures across retrofitted units | $28,770.00 | ||
| Fixture total | $28,770.00 | ||
Allowance of up to $6,500.00 for unforeseen conditions behind existing walls, billed only if used. It is not part of the contract price, so it doesn't change the deposit. Default: not used ($0).
Contract price: $28,770.00
42 fixtures × $685.00 per fixture
Deposit due on signed contract (10% of the contract price): $2,877.00
Balance billed as units are completed: $25,893.00
Allowance used so far: $0.00 of $6,500.00 (billed only if used)
Total billed, contract price plus allowance used: $28,770.00
Proposal draft (template preview, invented job)
Re: multi-family retrofit, plumbing fixture replacement (invented job).
Scope of work: plumbing (unit priced)
Replace kitchen and bath fixtures across the retrofitted units at $685.00 per fixture replaced, billed on the fixtures actually replaced. Estimated at 42 fixtures: $28,770.00.
Allowance
An allowance of up to $6,500.00 for unforeseen conditions behind existing walls, billed only if used. It is not included in the contract price.
Payment terms
Deposit of 10% ($2,877.00) due on signed contract. The balance is billed as units are completed, and any allowance used is billed as it is used. No retainage.
Your work
Sign in to upload your estimate (and two or three of your own past proposals with each job), buy credits, and follow each proposal from draft to checked. Claude on Amazon Bedrock in the EU writes the wording; ordinary code computes every total; a member of our team checks every price and scope line against your estimate before the proposal is marked reviewed, and you download it as a Word file, a PDF and a check record. It is a draft for you to read before you send it: not legal advice, and not a second opinion on your pricing; the check covers that the draft matches your estimate, not whether your pricing or terms are sound; you edit and send it yourself.
A one-page quote is fine for a service call. A commercial job isn't.
A commercial job wants a real proposal: scope by trade, what's excluded, what's an alternate, how retainage works — and today that means copying an old Word or Google Docs file and swapping in the new numbers by hand, an hour or more even with a template. Lose one bid to a competitor with a more polished proposal, or get asked for a formal scope letter instead of a one-page quote, and the gap in the process shows.
How it works
- Sign in and upload your estimate (line items, pricing, the job facts) and include two or three of your own best past proposals with each job (they are used for phrasing only).
- Software drafts the full proposal — scope by trade, exclusions, alternates, payment terms, signature block — every dollar figure tied back to your estimate.
- A member of our team checks every price and scope line against your estimate before it's marked reviewed. Anything the estimate doesn't answer comes back to you as a question, not a guess.
- You get a document ready to send, in your own voice, in the format your clients already expect from you.
Try it yourself in the interactive preview above, worked through on an invented job you can edit.
What we're actually built for
Two self-serve tools already draft AI proposals for a contractor your size — see the comparison below. We're not claiming better AI. Here's what's specific to us:
-
Commercial bid structure, not a residential quote
Scope by trade, exclusions, alternates, retainage or progress draws where the job calls for it — not just a price and a signature line.
-
Grounded in your own past proposals
Include two or three of your own past proposals with each job (they are used for phrasing only); the draft then echoes your phrasing and conventions instead of reading as a generic template.
-
Every dollar figure traces to your estimate
Subtotal, markup, deposit, retainage and progress-draw amounts are computed by ordinary code from your estimate, never left to a language model to calculate.
-
A person checks every number before it's marked reviewed
Every dollar figure and every scope item, included and excluded, is checked against your estimate by a named team member. Neither founder has estimating or contracting credentials: the check covers whether the draft matches your estimate, not whether your pricing or terms are wise for the job — that judgment stays with you.
-
A price you can approve yourself
Pay-as-you-go credits, not an enterprise quote or a monthly subscription that outlasts how often you actually bid.
How this compares
Including the two self-serve tools that already draft AI proposals for this buyer, and the alternative most contractors are actually using today: doing it by hand.
| Criterion | ScopeClerk | QuickProposal | ProposAI | By hand today |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who it's for | 5-50 technician HVAC/plumbing (often multi-trade) contractors who bid commercial jobs and need a formal scope letter, not just a quote. | "HVAC techs, plumbers, electricians, landscapers, roofers, painters, cleaners, and other home-service pros"1. | Markets "AI Proposals for Trade Contractors"; no further detail publicly shown2. | Nobody sells it. It's an estimator, an old Word file and a copy-paste. |
| Commercial structure (exclusions, alternates, retainage, unit pricing) | What it is being built for: drafts with exclusions, alternates and retainage or progress-draw language where the job calls for it, every dollar traced to your estimate. Not proven on a real job yet. | Not shown on its page. Its features list "clean scopes customers understand," job-photo uploads and e-signature; nothing there names exclusions, alternates, retainage or unit pricing1. | Not checked — its page shows only a tagline, with no pricing or feature detail2. | Whatever the last proposal happened to include. |
| Grounded in your own past proposals | Drafts start from two or three of your own past proposals and reuse your phrasing. Whether a given draft's phrasing really echoes yours is checked by eye, job by job, not scored. | Not stated on its page. | Not stated on its page. | Yes, because a person is literally copying the old file. |
| Published price | Pay-as-you-go credits: 25 for $25, 100 for $90, 500 for $400, 2,000 for $1,400. A draft-only proposal is 25 credits; a full proposal (draft plus one revision) is 50 credits. No subscription. | Starter $19/month (20 proposals, 1 user), Pro $49/month (unlimited, 1 user), Team $79/month (unlimited, 3 users)1. | Not published. No price found on its own page or by web search2. | No software cost; staff time only. |
| Try it before committing | The preview above, 0 credits, no account. A real job starts with the 25-credit Starter pack ($25), bought after you sign in; a real estimate is uploaded only after you sign in. | No free trial shown on its pricing page1. | Not checked. | Not applicable. |
Where another option may already be the better choice. If you mostly send residential-style quotes and want job-photo uploads, e-signature and card payment built in, QuickProposal's page shows all three1; we don't have any of them. Neither QuickProposal's nor ProposAI's public pages show an actual generated document, so whether either already handles commercial structure — exclusions, alternates, retainage — is an open question we have not resolved, not a claim we're making about them. Our own honest claim is "built for commercial bid structure and your own past proposals," not "they can't do this."
And if you rarely lose a bid over how the proposal reads, or a client has never asked for a formal scope letter, the gap this fills may be small for your business.
Sources, as of 28 September 2026.
- QuickProposal: quick-proposal.com, fetched 28 September 2026.
- ProposAI: proposai.org, fetched 28 September 2026; its pricing page returned no plan details, and a web search the same day found no third-party source with a ProposAI price either.
Competitor prices and features change — check each vendor's current page before you decide.
Pricing
Pay-as-you-go credits, decided by the founders on 28 September 2026, the same four packs on every product we're building. Credits never expire, there's no subscription, no seats and no monthly minimum. Previewing the invented samples above costs 0 credits and needs no account.
Credit packs
| Pack | Credits | Price | Per credit | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter (minimum purchase) | 25 | $25 | $1.00 | Sign in to buy 25 credits |
| 100 | 100 | $90 | $0.90 | Sign in to buy 100 credits |
| 500 | 500 | $400 | $0.80 | Sign in to buy 500 credits |
| 2,000 | 2,000 | $1,400 | $0.70 | Sign in to buy 2,000 credits |
You buy credits after you sign in, in Your work. Card checkout is coming; until then the Buy button in Your work emails us and we reply with a payment link. Every proposal is drafted by software, its totals are computed by ordinary code, and a member of our team checks every figure before it is marked reviewed.
What a proposal costs
| Unit of work | Credits | At Starter rate | At 100-credit pack rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Draft-only proposal (first pass, every number checked against your estimate, no revision round) | 25 | $25.00 | $22.50 |
| Full proposal (first draft plus one reviewed revision round) | 50 | $50.00 | $45.00 |
The 25-credit Starter pack buys exactly one draft-only proposal, with no credits left over. A full proposal needs 50 credits: two Starter packs, or part of a larger pack.
Which one you're charged for
- The one you ask for when you send the job. Draft-only is 25 credits; full proposal is 50.
- Draft-only gets you the first draft with every number checked against your estimate. If we got something wrong against your estimate, we fix it at no charge; that is not a revision round.
- A revision round is a change you ask for after the draft comes back. After a draft-only proposal it costs 25 credits, so draft-only plus one revision is 50 credits, the same as ordering the full proposal up front. Each revision round after the first is also 25 credits (a starting figure, to be checked against how long reviews really take).
- Not sure which to pick? Draft-only is never dearer: if you end up wanting a revision, you pay the same 50 credits either way.
Monthly cost at about 5 proposals a month
- 5 draft-only proposals a month (an assumption: about 5 commercial bids a month, the volume our pricing research worked from): 5 × 25 = 125 credits a month. That is in the 100–499 band, so the 500-pack rate applies: 125 × $0.80 = $100.00 a month.
- 5 full proposals a month (same assumption): 5 × 50 = 250 credits a month, also at the 500-pack rate: 250 × $0.80 = $200.00 a month.
Rule: a customer buys the pack that matches their monthly need — under 100 credits a month uses the 100-pack rate ($0.90); 100–499 uses the 500-pack rate ($0.80); 500 or more uses the 2,000-pack rate ($0.70). Packs are bought whole and up front; unused credits carry over and never expire. The monthly figures above are the credits used in a month, valued at that pack's rate; what you pay at checkout is the whole pack. If you buy the 2,000-credit pack instead, the same 250 credits cost 250 × $0.70 = $175.00, but that pack is eight months of credits at this volume, paid up front.
How this price was set. The credit packs are a founder decision of 28 September 2026, the same on every product we're building. The full proposal's 50 credits comes from our pricing research: $150–350 a month for a contractor bidding about 5 proposals a month is $30–70 a proposal, and 50 is the midpoint ($250 ÷ 5). The draft-only proposal is set at 25 credits so that the $25 minimum purchase buys one whole, checked draft.
Prices in US dollars, excluding any sales tax that applies. The volume of 5 proposals a month is an assumption, not a measured number.
Security and trust
Your estimate and past proposals contain your pricing and your client's job details — commercially sensitive, though not health or financial-account data.
- Files you upload are encrypted in transit (TLS) and at rest.
- Two handling regimes, never blurred. (1) The preview above: runs entirely in your browser on the fixed invented samples shown; nothing is transmitted, stored, or sent to a model. (2) A customer's estimate and past proposals: kept while you're a customer, then deleted on the schedule below, or sooner when you delete a job or your account.
- How long we keep your files. Uploads you never used in a job are deleted after 72 hours. Jobs that fail, are rejected or are never paid are deleted after 14 days. Paid work is kept for 365 days so you can re-download it. You can delete a job, or your whole account, at any time.
- Which AI provider. Proposal text is drafted with Claude on Amazon Bedrock in the EU (processed within EU regions). Amazon Web Services is the processor; the developer of the model does not receive your data, and the calls are not used to train any model. It is listed in the privacy policy.
- Data processing agreement. A data processing agreement is available on request at hello@scopeclerk.com.
- We are a two-person company, based in Romania, and say so plainly. We do not claim SOC 2, HIPAA or any other certification we have not obtained.
- A real estimate can be uploaded only after you sign in; there is no anonymous upload on this site, and the preview above never sends anything. A member of our team opens your estimate and the draft to check every figure before you get it back.
What this is not
ScopeClerk drafts a document from the numbers you give it. It is not legal advice and not a substitute for your own review of the contract terms you're offering. We check that the draft's numbers and scope items match your estimate; we do not advise on whether your pricing, terms or exclusions are wise for the job. Read the draft before you send it.
Questions we expect
We only send a handful of these a month — is a subscription worth it?
Honest answer: there's no subscription to justify. Credits are pay-as-you-go and never expire — buy the 25-credit Starter pack ($25) and use it whenever you actually have a job to bid (25 credits for a draft-only proposal, 50 for a full proposal with one revision). If you only bid a handful a month, you're not paying for the months in between.
Our own proposals already win jobs — why change the process?
You don't have to change your proposal, just how long it takes to produce the next one. ScopeClerk drafts from your own estimate and your own past proposals, so the structure and wording stay yours; the draft still needs your own review, and a person on our side checks every number against your estimate first.
Can it actually match our pricing and terms conventions, or will it sound generic?
With each job, include two or three of your own best past proposals (they are used for phrasing only); the draft is then grounded in that wording rather than a generic template. Past proposals are not carried over from one job to the next, so send them again with each job. Whether a given draft's phrasing and structure visibly echo your own past proposals is something a reviewer checks by eye, job by job — not a percentage we claim on the page.
QuickProposal already drafts proposals for $19-79 a month — what do you do differently?
QuickProposal's own page shows job-photo uploads, e-signature and "clean scopes customers understand," aimed at home-service pros generally; nothing on its page names exclusions, alternates, retainage or unit pricing. We haven't run a commercial job through it ourselves, so we can't say it can't do commercial structure — only that our own claim is narrower and checked: built for commercial bid structure and grounded in your own past proposals. See the comparison table above for exactly what we did and didn't check.
Is this legal advice, or a second opinion on my pricing?
No. ScopeClerk checks that the draft's numbers and scope items match your estimate; it does not advise on whether your pricing, terms or exclusions are wise for the job, and it isn't legal advice. That judgment stays with you.
Want to see this on a job like yours?
Sign in, upload a recent estimate and get a checked proposal back. Prefer to talk first? Email us and we can set up a 20-minute call. Please don't attach an estimate or past proposals to an email: upload them after you sign in, where they are covered by the retention schedule in Security and trust below.